Ramarajan : Lipstick and Luck go hand in hand


So I just realized that Ramarajan ( EMWIGTU) has a nice big fat chunk of the Ilayaraja pie.

He has some of the great man’s best songs. How How How ?
If I had a video Ipod, how would I feel like visually enjoying these songs . I am better than Ramarajan. So are You. And You. And You. And You. Yet HE got these songs.

He can’t act. Even if he was, you’re too busy noticing the way his lipgloss is shining.

Madhura Marikozhundhu – Enga Ooru Paatukaran
This is a rustic song which has one of the best Pallavi portions, fast and peppy. Again, this is not exactly classy but it’s one of the best villagey songs ever.

Shenbagame – Enga Ooru Paatukaran
One of the best female solos of all time. Asha Bhonsle’s voice was much younger back then and actually does not give me images of loose sagging skin hanging down her throat. She did not mess up with her pronounciation like how she made Ash Rai seem a dingbat singing Venilla Venilla in Iruvar. It sounded like she was calling out the ice-cream flavor.

Now, Umm…er….it’s hard to make Ash ‘look like a dingbat’ but that’s a discussion which is not acceptable in this blog as the focus is on…. YOU guessed right : Tamizh music.

Now I feel like talking about Shreya Ghosal messing up the ‘Sami Kittai’ song from Daas, she has the voice of an angel but the way she delivers tamizh lyrics makes me feel irritated. I shall have to listen to Bairi Piya to forgive her now 🙂

Raasathi Manasula – Raasave Unnai Nambi
Susheela does a good mournful rendition of this one. It’s one of Illayaraja’s evergreen
‘ teary village girl who probably loves her morai payyan and eats off his leaf after he finishes burping ‘ song.

Indha Maan Unthan Sontha Maan – Karagatakaran
Nice duet. A lot of people argue that they don’t like Ilayaraja’s voice but I think his voice suits many of the songs that he has chosen to sing. A sweet duet with Chitra and I need to watch
‘Mr Pinkie Lip’ Ramarajan if I have to watch the video. Damm.

Kudagu Malai – Mano and Chitra
Mano is really good in this one. I love the tune and I can still remember it from back when I was young. It’s sad and happy all at once.

Manguyiley – Karakatagaram
My dad’s favorite Raja song. The perfect ‘village dancing duet’ if there ever was one. The melody, lyrics, rhythm and SPB’s expressions make this song a memorable one.
Only SPB can sing with the cockiness and adoration of a man who knows that the chick digs him and wants to keep teasing her.

Nethu Oru Thara – Pudhu Paatu
Again Ramu boy struck gold. I love this song. And I love the fact that Ilayaraja chose to sing it. It needs to be sung with a certain raunchiness that he understood when he composed the song. The way he chooses perfect pallavis and anupallavis never ceases to amaze me. His songs crescendo back to the original tune while maintaing the same tempo. Chitra ably supports him. If you’ve never heard this song before, please do. You would have been tempted to fast forward it while watching the movie cos of ‘ you know who’ but don’t. It’s amazing.

Sorgamey endralum – Ooru vittu ooru vandhu
This is actually Gangai Amaran’s composition. Ramarajan and Gowthami sing about why
Tamil nadu is better than the foreign country they are visiting. Sadly, the song makes sense.

I guess people would have forgotten Ramarajan’s existence if it were not for songs like this. He was definately lucky to be a part of some of Raja’s greatest hits.

Now excuse me while I find some songs to bitch about Mohan .

EMWIGTU* stands for Excuse me While I go throw up.

8 Responses to “Ramarajan : Lipstick and Luck go hand in hand”

  1. Rajesh Rajamani Says:

    Yeah. Yeah. Ilayaraaja rocks. Maybe you should write a post about Johnny’s soundtrack. Every song in that movie was brilliant. But not as popular as they deserved to be. 😦

  2. C'est la vie Says:

    Brilliantly written. “Sorgame endralum” is one of the better, well-written tamil songs!

  3. Lazy Blogger Says:

    Awesome post! Believe me, i listen to these Ramarajan hits EVERYDAY on my way to work. My absolute favorites are Maanguyiley and Madurai marikozhundhu. This blog is way too good, do keep posting!

  4. Indy Says:

    Oh my! very impressive..some of my personal favorites include, madhurai marikozhundhu, shenbagamey..!geez nice to see someone in “my” generation appreciate such songs too 🙂

  5. Anonymous Says:

    I have to agree with you about Raja and Ramarajan. I don’t think Raja has ever given a flop album to Ramoo. What to do?:-) I hate his movies, but I do feel bad for the guy. He was on a high for so long and then just disappeared due to bad films and poor financial management.

    I love the song Marutha Marikozhunthu and even Shenbagame. I have not see the films, and probably will not, since I don’t want to hate the songs afterwards.

    -kajan

  6. Sathya Says:

    Good research.. Usually I do not leave comments on reading a blog. But I wanted to this time..

    Ramarajan is really lucky for his songs making him evergreen with the songs. The songs I hear repeatedly while driving are (by striking coincidence) nethu oruthara, madura marikolunthu, chenbagama (sunanda in this track has done a splendid job in her own way..)…

    Good work..Keep it up

    -Sathya

  7. Sathya Says:

    Good research.. Usually I do not leave comments on reading a blog. But I wanted to this time..

    Ramarajan is really lucky for his songs making him evergreen with the songs. The songs I hear repeatedly while driving are (by striking coincidence) nethu oruthara, madura marikolunthu, chenbagama (sunanda in this track has done a splendid job in her own way..)…

    Good work..Keep it up

    -Sathya

  8. விஜயகுமார் Says:

    நீங்கள் எழுதியிருப்பது முற்றிலும் உண்மை!

Leave a comment